/ News

England v Argentina, Twickenham, November 14
England make four changes for Pumas
November 11, 2009

England manager Martin Johnson has made four changes to his side to face Argentina at Twickenham on Saturday.

Bath prop Duncan Bell starts in the front-row for the first time since 2005 after an injury to club-mate David Wilson and he is joined there by Northampton hooker Dylan Hartley.

Paul Hodgson has displaced Danny Care at scrum-half and partners Jonny Wilkinson in an otherwise unchanged back division from the one that started last weekend's defeat to Australia.

The final change comes in the back-row where James Haskell is rewarded for a lively cameo against the Wallabies with a start in place of Jordan Crane at No.8. Crane has been left out of the 22 after being released from training on Tuesday, with Tom Croft and Lewis Moody also remaining in the back-row trio.

As expected, Gloucester's rookie prop Paul Doran-Jones has been named on the bench following England's front-row injury problems. He is joined by the recalled Joe Worsley and Courtney Lawes and Ayoola Erinle, who both won their first caps last weekend.

"With Dylan it was an opportunity to get him back into the team," said Johnson. "Steve [Thompson] played very well last week but Dylan is a slightly different player.

"He has been around this team all year and it is a good chance for him to play. He is obviously a dynamic ball-carrier for us and I'm looking forward to seeing him out there. James is another guy who has been out of the team a little over the last year, but you know what you get with him. It is a big opportunity for him to play at No.8.

"With Paul and Danny, there is an argument as to who starts and who comes off the bench, but it is an opportunity for Paul to start and he deserves it. It's a tough call on Jordan Crane but it was a chance to get Joe Worsley back into the squad. If you've got a world-class player available you probably need to include him."

England: Ugo Monye (Harlequins); Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks), Dan Hipkiss (Leicester Tigers), Shane Geraghty (Northampton Saints), Matt Banahan (Bath); Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon), Paul Hodgson (London Irish); Tim Payne (London Wasps), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), Duncan Bell (Bath), Louis Deacon (Leicester Tigers), Steve Borthwick (Saracens, capt), Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers), Lewis Moody (Leicester Tigers), James Haskell (Stade Francais)

Replacements: Steve Thompson (CA Brive), Paul Doran-Jones (Gloucester), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Joe Worsley (London Wasps), Danny Care (Harlequins), Andy Goode (CA Brive), Ayoola Erinle (Biarritz Olympique)

© Scrum.com
Live Scores