/ Head to Head

Australia v South Africa, Tri-Nations, Brisbane, July 24
Brisbane beckons for Springboks
July 19, 2010
Australia's Adam Ashley-Cooper celebrates scoring a try, Australia v South Africa, Tri-Nations, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, Australia, September 5, 2009
Australia's Adam Ashley-Cooper celebrates his try against South Africa in Brisbane in 2009 © Getty Images
Related Links
Tournaments/Tours: Tri Nations
Grounds: Lang Park

South Africa travel to Brisbane to face Australia on Saturday and for the third time in as many weeks the Springboks are looking to overturn the weight of history.

The Suncorp Stadium clash comes hot on the heels of their back-to-back losses to the All Blacks at Eden Park and Westpac Stadium, grounds at which, like Suncorp, the Boks have a losing record.

The Springboks hold the historical advantage over the Wallabies with 43 victories to their rivals' 27 since their first meeting in Sydney in 1921 - won 25-10 by the visitors - but they have not won in Brisbane since 1971.

Of the four Brisbane venues previously used for Tests, Suncorp (or Lang Park), Ballymore, the Brisbane Exhibition Ground and the Woollongabba Ground, which is better known as the city's venue for cricket, South Africa have only won at the Exhibition Ground.

Their most recent defeat in the city came in 2009, when the Wallabies were the only side to bloody their nose during the Tri-Nations, winning 21-6 thanks to tries from Adam Ashley-Cooper and James O'Connor.

The Springboks' lowest ebb came in 2006 however, when six Wallaby tries secured a record 49-0 victory. Matt Giteau scored twice for the home side, with Chris Latham, Jeremy Paul, Greg Holmes and Mark Chisholm also crossing the whitewash.

All-time record: South Africa won 43, Australia won 27, drawn 1

Biggest winning margin: SA: 45, 53-8 at Johannesburg, 2008; Aus: 49, 49-0 at Brisbane, 2006

Highest score: SA: 61 (61-22) at Pretoria, 1997; Aus: 49 (49-0) at Brisbane, 2006

Most tries: SA: 8 (53-8) at Johannesburg, 2008, (61-22) at Pretoria,1997, (28-3) at Johannesburg, 1961; Aus: 6 (49-0) at Brisbane, 2006

Longest winning sequence: SA: 7 (1953-1963) and (1969-1971); Aus: 4 (1999-2000)

Most points (individual) : SA: Percy Montgomery 140; Aus: Stirling Mortlock 150

Most tries (individual) : SA: Breyton Paulse 7; Aus: Matt Giteau 9

Most points in a Test: SA: 26 Jannie de Beer at Pretoria, 1997; Aus: 29 Stirling Mortlock at Melbourne, 2000

Click Here for South Africa's Test record courtesy of Statsguru

Click Here for Australia's Test record courtesy of Statsguru

Click Here for a record of all Australia v South Africa matches courtesy of Statsguru

Click Here for the Australia v South Africa record at the Suncorp Stadium courtesy of Statsguru

Live Scores